ABRPTSO Board (2019-2020)

Co-Chairs Deanne O’ Sullivan
Secretary Ranjini Reddy
Treasurer OPEN
Bharat Bhargava (outgoing)
Directories Priya Ramanan

Gardening Kristina Rychlik
Communications Laura-Jean Hickey
Newcomer Welcome (JH) Tracey Estabrook
Volunteer Coordinators Veena Kamath (JH & HS)
Interschool Council Ezili Mayo-Joseph
School Committee Liaison April Hirschberg    
Membership Karen Pierce
Maria Parodos
Nominations Sonal Goel
Hospitality HS: Beatriz de Condes
JH: Tracey Estabrook
Durga Nirgudkar
Webmaster Molly Wong
HS Principal Larry Dorey
JH Principal Andrew Shen

ABRPTSO Charter 

The Regional PTSO includes parent representatives from the Acton-Boxborough Regional High School and R.J Grey Junior High School. Board members from both schools sponsor monthly meetings featuring a speaker from the school system, updates from both principals, and general discussion. We advertise these open meetings via email. Board members are elected for one year terms in May.

PTSO Bylaws

The ABRPTSO is set up as a 501(c)(3). See the 2016 PTSO Bylaws. Membership includes all JHS and HS parents/guardians of students, all JHS and HS faculty/administrators/staff, and all JHS and HS students.


The officers are a Chairperson (or Co-chairs), a Secretary, and a Treasurer. The Steering Committee/Board of Directors includes the above officers, the JHS and HS principals and faculty representatives, and the chairpersons of the following: Directories, Gardening, Newcomer Welcome, Communications, Nominations, Inter-School Council Rep, School Committee Liaisons, Hospitality, Volunteer Coordinator, Membership, Web Master and Forum Coordinator.
Four week prior to the Annual meeting, the Nominating chairperson will nominate members for next year's board. The Nominating chairperson will publicly solicit candidates and then report these names at the meeting preceding the election. Prior to elections, a list of final nominees will go to all PTSO members for their consideration. Election of the new board will take place no later than May 31. Officers and Board Members assume office on July 1st and serve for the fiscal year.


The Steering Committee will also appoint a Budget Committee. The Budget Committee will consist of the present treasurer, 3 members at large, one member of the Steering Committee, and the Chairperson, ex officio.
A minimum balance as determined necessary by the Board shall be maintained at all times. All moneys in excess of that minimum shall be spent within 2 years time. 
Non-budgeted expenditures under $100 shall be approved by the Chairperson. Those over $100 shall be approved by the Steering Committee. 
The Board may vote at any monthly meeting to reallocate funds within the operating budget (not to total more than 5% of the annual budget). Those over 5% require information to be provided to the PTSO membership one month prior to the vote or reallocation.


The PTSO meets every other month, with an annual business meeting, usually in May. The purpose of the May meeting is to elect officers and committee chairs, and approve the budget. 
Fifty percent of the Board members' present constitute a quorum at a Board meeting. Twenty-five percent PTSO members' constitute a quorum at a regular General Meeting.