ABRPTSO Board (2017-18)

Co-Chairs Guixin (Susan) He
guixin15@hotmail.com
Kavitha Manikandan
kavithamanikandan@yahoo.com
Secretary Lisa Klein Pearo lkpearo@gmail.com
Treasurer Anita Tang
Bharat Bhargav (Shadow)
anita.hc.tang@gmail.com
bhargavabharat@yahoo.com
Directories Lori Fassman
lori.fassman@gmail.com
Lisa Pearson
lisabpearson@comcast.net
Gardening Meghan Laska mlaska@laskapr.com
Heather Arthur hmarthur@hotmail.com
Communications Tina Hamilton
tinahamilton_2000@yahoo.com
Newcomer Welcome (JH) Ranjini Reddy ranjinireddy@gmail.com
Volunteer Coordinators Yuanping Gao (HS) yuanping.gao@gmail.com
Shobana Sampath (JH)
shobanas@yahoo.com
Interschool Council Ranjini Reddy ranjinireddy@gmail.com

School Committee Liaison Zuzka Blasi beezok@hotmail.com
Nisreen Harianawala
theharfam@gmail.com
Carolyn Dee deefamily2@verizon.net
Zhu Xiao zxiaous@gmail.com
Ken Cooperman kennethwcooperman@gmail.com
Membership Eileen Matarese mrsematta@verizon.net
Martha Papalia papaliamartha@gmail.com
Nominations Padmini Narayan
pnar98@yahoo.com
Hospitality HS: Kathy McCullen
Beatriz de Condes
akmccullen@gmail.com
beatrizdecondes@gmail.com
JH: Tracey Estabrook
Mai Nguyen
traceybe1026@gmail.com
mai_nguyen90@hotmail.com
Forums Susan Lerner sammyabe@aol.com
Webmaster Padmini Narayan pnar98@yahoo.com
HS Principal Larry Dorey ldorey@abschools.org
JH Principal Andrew Shen ashen@abschools.org

ABRPTSO Charter 


The Regional PTSO includes parent representatives from the Acton-Boxborough Regional High School and R.J Grey Junior High School. Board members from both schools sponsor monthly meetings featuring a speaker from the school system, updates from both principals, and general discussion. We advertise these open meetings via email. Board members are elected for one year terms in May.

PTSO Bylaws

The ABRPTSO is set up as a 501(c)(3). See the 2016 PTSO Bylaws. Membership includes all JHS and HS parents/guardians of students, all JHS and HS faculty/administrators/staff, and all JHS and HS students.

Officers/Board

The officers are a Chairperson (or Co-chairs), a Secretary, and a Treasurer. The Steering Committee/Board of Directors includes the above officers, the JHS and HS principals and faculty representatives, and the chairpersons of the following: Directories, Gardening, Newcomer Welcome, Communications, Nominations, Inter-School Council Rep, School Committee Liaisons, Hospitality, Volunteer Coordinator, Membership, Web Master and Forum Coordinator.
Four week prior to the Annual meeting, the Nominating chairperson will nominate members for next year's board. The Nominating chairperson will publicly solicit candidates and then report these names at the meeting preceding the election. Prior to elections, a list of final nominees will go to all PTSO members for their consideration. Election of the new board will take place no later than May 31. Officers and Board Members assume office on July 1st and serve for the fiscal year.

Budget

The Steering Committee will also appoint a Budget Committee. The Budget Committee will consist of the present treasurer, 3 members at large, one member of the Steering Committee, and the Chairperson, ex officio.
A minimum balance as determined necessary by the Board shall be maintained at all times. All moneys in excess of that minimum shall be spent within 2 years time. 
Non-budgeted expenditures under $100 shall be approved by the Chairperson. Those over $100 shall be approved by the Steering Committee. 
The Board may vote at any monthly meeting to reallocate funds within the operating budget (not to total more than 5% of the annual budget). Those over 5% require information to be provided to the PTSO membership one month prior to the vote or reallocation.

Meetings

The PTSO meets each month, with an annual business meeting, usually in May. The purpose of the May meeting is to elect officers and committee chairs, and approve the budget. 
Fifty percent of the Board members' present constitute a quorum at a Board meeting. Twenty-five percent PTSO members' constitute a quorum at a regular General Meeting.